Backends and databases · by AI Organizer Company
Busabase
An open-source (MIT) shared workspace where AI agents and people read and write typed tables, docs, skills and small apps over MCP, a REST/OpenAPI API, a CLI or SDKs, with each agent write recorded as a change request with author, diff and history.
What your agents produce stops vanishing into chat logs: it lands in structured records the next agent or teammate can read, and writes from untrusted keys can wait for a person to approve.
APIOpen sourceFree tierCommercial OKFor your project
- Official API
- Official API · Free tier
“Agents connect over MCP, an agent skill, or the OpenAPI surface.” busabase.com/llms.txt
- Key
- Needed
“[API keys](/docs/api-keys): Issue scoped, revocable API keys for agents and downstream systems.” busabase.com/llms.txt
- Formats
- JSON
- Data download
- Not stated
- Price
- Free tier · from $10/mo Free cloud plan: 1 space, 3 seats per space, 5,000 records per space, 1 GB attachment storage; the open-source engine is free to self-host
“Plus For a small team building on the same agent-written data. $10 /seat/mo Billed $120/seat annually” busabase.com/
- Open source
- busabase/busabase
- License
- Busabase Cloud Terms of Service; MIT (open-source engine) Terms cover Busabase Cloud; the local/self-hosted engine is MIT
- Commercial use
- Commercial use OK
“we grant you a limited, non-exclusive, non-transferable, revocable license to access and use the Service for your internal business or personal purposes.” busabase.com/terms-of-service
- Credit
- Not stated
- Embedding
- Embedding unclear
- Using the website
- Free tier
Read on Busabase's own pages on Oct 24, 2026 · license or terms · API docs · pricing · source code. Check the license page before you ship.
For your agent
A request your code or agent can make (add your key):
https://busabase.com/api/v1/openapi.json- Remote MCP at https://busabase.com/api/mcp (OAuth), or the CLI via 'npx --yes busabase-cli@latest' and 'busabase-cli skill install'; REST calls use scoped API keys; self-host with npm 'busabase' or Docker image 'busabase/busabase'.
- Busabase Cloud use is for internal business or personal purposes; reselling access needs written consent
- Writes from keys without write trust become change requests and wait for review; do not assume they are applied
- MCP, webhooks and OpenAPI are listed under the Plus plan on Busabase Cloud
llms.txt: busabase.com/llms.txt · MCP: https://busabase.com/api/mcp
Paste into your agent: Read https://agentgid.com/resources/busabase/agent.md before using Busabase.
Quick answers
Does Busabase have an API?
Yes. Busabase has an official API documented at https://busabase.com/api/v1/doc.
Does the Busabase API need a key?
Yes, you need an API key.
Is Busabase free?
Yes, there is a free tier: Free cloud plan: 1 space, 3 seats per space, 5,000 records per space, 1 GB attachment storage; the open-source engine is free to self-host Paid plans start at $10 a month.
Can I use Busabase in a commercial project?
Yes. Its terms say: "we grant you a limited, non-exclusive, non-transferable, revocable license to access and use the Service for your internal business or personal purposes."
What you can build
- A shared CRM table that several coding agents update from call notes, with a person approving each change request
- A content pipeline where an agent drafts posts into a base and a small internal app shows the schedule
- A team memory base of decisions and meeting notes that every new agent session reads first
Alternatives in Backends and databases
Something wrong or out of date? Tell us.